Truth or Dare by DD Prince

image

If you liked The Dominator you’ll want to read the story of Dario Ferrano falling in love. Dario is Tommy’s younger brother and after seeing his brother fall in love Dare’s new motto is MAN WHORE NO MORE! 
Dare wants his own happily ever after. 
But after Dare comes home from his brother’s wedding and celebrates his 25th birthday he gets a posthumous gift from his father, one that’ll change the course of his life.
-Goodreads Description

MY RATING: 5 ☆☆☆☆☆
“Trigger Warning: Explicit sex scenes. Profanity. Dark themes. This book’s heroine is a sex slave that gets rescued. She’s broken. The book does not spend chapter after chapter describing her abuse in detail but be warned that there is some explicit content related to her memories.”

Now that I’ve picked my jaw up off of the floor, I think I’ll be able to articulate my review of the intense awesomeness that is DD Prince’s Truth or Dare! If you thought The Dominator had twists and turns, you ain’t seen nothin’ yet!

image

“Have you had dinner?”
“No, Sir.”
“Is now around the time you’d usually eat?”
“I don’t know what time it is, Sir.”
He looked at his wristwatch, “Almost 5:30.”
“Yes, Sir. I usually eat between five and seven.”
“Stop calling me Sir.”
“Yes, Master.”
“Call me Dare or Dario.”
“Yes, Dare.”

Truth or Dare is an erotic romance with some really dark themes. Dario, the younger brother of Tommy Ferrano, is attempting to clean up and sell the family business. When he finds out that papa Ferrano arranged yet another “you want her? She’s yours” marriages, this time for him, he’s not interested. But after finding out that this girl is being held in Thailand as a sex slave, he knows the situation is dangerous, messy, and sicker than he ever could have imagined!

Now right away, I found Dario more loveable and morally sound than his brother. He’s just the right amount of sexy, dominant, and protective. But that didn’t mean that Truth or Dare is an easy-going novel. Not even close! Let’s meet Felicia:

Dare had my passport. I was wearing his collar. I didn’t belong to these people any longer. I was his. I didn’t know yet what that meant and I didn’t dare listen to the little voice in my head trying to whisper to me that maybe it was all going to be okay. But when he didn’t allow anyone here to fuck with me and when he blocked Cleo and didn’t let her sink her claws into me and poison me with her venom one last time before we left I think I fell in love with him a little.

The heroine of the novel is an upscale sex slave, and she is tragically broken when Dario meets her. I’ll admit now that it was very hard to read through their initial interactions. Felicia was so thoroughly obedient that I didn’t know how to take her as a character. I’m used to heroines with a spit-fire tongue and through-the-roof defiance. This girl, who was only 23, had been put through the ringer so badly that she obeyed as a method of survival and self-preservation. And quite frankly, I felt a heavy sense of despair for her off-and-on throughout the entire story.

“I’m a cold-hearted snake. A man whore. And I’ve done some bad shit. I’ve ordered people to take out other people. I’ve watched people die. Taken lives, myself. Deservedly, but still. I come from a bad fucking seed. I’ve screwed with lives and just fucked with them until they were unrecognizable. I’m no better than the scumbags who took you. Don’t have some twisted hero worship thing, baby, because I’m no better.”
“You saved me,” I whispered. And I wanted to add and I wanna be yours but I didn’t say it.

Even still, I fell in love with this broken, accidental couple! There were times where I didn’t know how Dario would help to piece Felicia back together. And even knowing what she’d endured, there were moments when I was very frustrated with her. And then I’d feel bad because her actions were always a result of her traumatic experiences.

On the contrary, this is one of the few books where I didn’t have too many bones to pick with the hero. I was already infatuated with Dario in The Dominator, so of course I had a soft spot for him. But he really surpassed my expectations as a central character. I loved how hard he fought for their love, even before he knew it was love. He was gentle at times, and rough at others, but oh baby did he make me swoon! The story is told in a dual point of view format, so I was able to understand their reasonings and actions better.

He put an arm tight around me, “I dunno, babe. I just don’t want if this thing with us goes somewhere and for you, as your life gets normal again, to suddenly realize you don’t want this.”
“I won’t,” I whispered.
“How do you know that?”
I didn’t have an answer for him. I just couldn’t imagine not wanting him.

Of course this was a steamy read! Does DD Prince ever dissapoint in that area?? I’ll tell you now, on a scale of 1 to “please don’t let anyone peak over my shoulder and see the words written on this page”… love scenes rank a solid 11! And dare I say it, Dare and Felicia are dirty talkers!! I didn’t know whether to read on or close the book and give them some privacy. Boy oh boy, it was HOT!!

But don’t be alarmed, it’s not just smut. There were such tender moments that I was smiling like an idiot ear to ear;  even laugh-out-loud funny moments! And in a book that has such dark and intense undertones, it was a relief to have interactions that made me grin, chuckle, and simply want to re-read again!

Everything that collar stood for was wrong. But the fact that she was wearing it meant she was mine. Not only to her but it looked like it was starting to mean that to me, too. She fucking loved that thing. I loved that she loved that thing. But I was twisted up over the guilt I felt because of it.

Fans of Tommy and Tia will be happy to see their inclusion in this book! Yep, you heard right. The pair actually have a few chapters mixed sporadically throughout, focusing more on their continued story. For me, I had to get used to their presence again. There were times where the story felt a bit crowded for my taste, jumping from Dario and Felicia, to Tommy and Tia, but I know fans will enjoy catching up with them. And of course the Ferrano family is around, still close-knit, resilient, and full of life!

I was full of many emotions after finishing this novel. Yes, there were some pretty heavy scenes. Felicia’s memories of her time as a sex slave were incredibly hard to read, and left me feeling tense and uncomfortable. But you know, that just means that the topic was authentically presented, and it only made me root harder for the pair to find their happily ever after.

This is another novel where you’ll need to pay close attention to the warning. It’s there for a reason! But watching the passion of Dario and Felicia develop into an amazing love was well worth it, and this is another book of DD’s that did not dissapoint!

****ARC kindly provided for honest and unbiased review purposes****

Categories: Book Reviews, Dark Erotica | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Truth or Dare by DD Prince

  1. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book! I found myself curious about who exactly Dario was as a person after reading The Dominator so I’m excited to get into his character and root for him as he finds love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

